Lakshmi Mittal, chairman and CEO, ArcelorMittal received the World Steel Association (worldsteel) Medal at the worldsteel annual dinner in Tokyo.

The medal was presented by Paolo Rocca, immediate past chairman worldsteel and chairman and CEO Techint Group.

The worldsteel Medal is awarded to retiring chairmen as they step down from being an officer of the executive committee (chairman, vice-chairman or treasurer).

It is an honour in recognition of distinguished service to the steel industry and worldsteel.

After four years as an officer of the executive committee, Lakshmi Mittal is now stepping down, though he remains a member of the committee.

The worldsteel Medal was first awarded in 1992 and has been presented to 16 recipients to date.

The last three recipients have been Kirby Adams (2007 BlueScope), Akio Mimura (2008 Nippon Steel) and Ku-Taek Lee (2009 Posco).