The World Steel Association (worldsteel) has announced its sustainability champions for 2019.

In total, nine companies are recognised including big hitters like ArcelorMittal and newcomers such as Bluescope Steel, China Steel Corporation and Nippon Steel Corporation.

To be eligible for recognition, steelmakers must sign worldsteel’s Sustainable Development Charter and provide data for six of the organisation’s sustainability indicators (material efficiency, environmental management systems, lost injury frequency rate, employee training, investment in new processes and products, and economic value distributed).

They must also provide life cycle inventory data to worldsteel’s data collection programme that covers more than 50% of the company’s crude steel production data and is less than five years old.

Finally, they must publish a sustainability-related report and be shortlisted for one of five worldsteel Steelie awards – presented annually at the World Steel Association General Assembly. The awards in question are: Excellence in Sustainability; Excellence in Life Cycle Assessment; Excellence in Education and Training; and Excellence in Communications Programmes.

Who was recognised for 2019? Here’s a list

• ArcelorMittal

• BlueScope Steel

• China Steel Corporation

• JSW Steel

• Nippon Steel Corporation

• Tata Steel Europe

• Tata Steel

• Tenaris

• Ternium

Certificates are normally presented in person, but because of the global pandemic this has not been possible. However, photographs of members with their certificates in their home countries, along with shots of previous champions, are available on worldsteel’s Flickr page, please visit for more details.