Simon Thompson has been appointed chairman of Rio Tinto, succeeding Jan du Plessis who steps down from the role, after nine years in the hot seat, on 5 March 2018.

Thompson joined the Rio Tinto board as a non-executive director in 2014 and has over 20 years’ experience working across five continents in the mining and metals industry. He was chairman of 3i Group since 2015 and was chairman of Tullow Oil from 2012 to 2017.

Ann Godbehere, a senior independent director of Rio Tinto commented: “The board is delighted to have appointed Simon to chair Rio Tinto. He brings to the role a deep understanding of the mining industry, as well as a strong track record as a non-executive.”